• Galardonada 2013


    For his vast contribution and influence in promoting territorial development for the generation of public policies, the University of Talca awarded the Juan Ignacio Molina Medal of Merit to the outstanding economist Sergio Boisier, considered one of the "fathers" of national regionalism promoted from academia. The award was presented during the ceremony held to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the existence of our Corporation, held in the Main Hall of the Bicentennial Building.

  • Galardonada 2013


    Margot Loyola, who was born in Linares in 1918, has made a tireless work that includes the dissemination of traditional Chilean culture, from the decade of 1940, for her immense contribution in the field of artistic culture. "Specifically in the rescue, preservation and dissemination of the intangible heritage that comes from our peasant culture and the ethnic groups that are part of our nation, she was awarded the Medal of Merit 'Abate Juan Ignacio Molina' to this great composer, researcher and interpreter of exception, who also played an important role in teaching.

  • Galaronada 2012


    Irene Domnina García arrived in Chile in 1979. She is a nurse by profession and she studied at the University Complutense of Madrid and has dedicated her life to the service of the sick poor in our country. Director of the of the Good Samaritan Sisters Congregation of Molina, she received the Medal "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina", conferred to her by the University of Talca, in its 31st anniversary.

  • Galardonado 2010


    Vicente Bianchi Alarcón, was born in 1920. He studied at the National Conservatory of Music, and later continued his musical training privately. With more than 70 years dedicated to the Chilean music as a performer, composer, arranger and director of a vast repertoire of works, he received the award on the occasion of the 29 anniversary of the University of Talca. "This is the most significant award, the biggest, and imperishable," said the musician when receiving the award.

  • Galardonado 2007


    José Zalaquett Daher. (1942 - )
    The University of Talca decided to give the Medal of Merit "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina" to Chilean attorney José Zalaquett, for his permanent link to the field of human rights. The jurist is commissioner of the International Commission of Jurists and a member of the board of directors of several other Chilean and international organizations on human rights.

  • Galardonado 2006


    Álvaro Rojas. Former Minister of Agriculture and current president of the University of Talca, he received the gold medal in 2006 from the hands of President Juan Antonio Rock, with the agreement of the Board of Directors. Rojas led the University of Talca for 15 years, until 2006, when he was appointed Secretary of State by former Chile’s President Michelle Bachelet.

  • Galardonado 2005


    Miguel Torres. Miguel Torres, from Spain, received the medal in virtue of his outstanding career and contribution that the positioning of the region as a viticulture zone of international level. Torres belongs to the fourth generation of the family business. He directs his vineyards in Chile and collaborates with his sister, Marimar Torres, in California, United States.

  • Galardonado 2004


    Guillermo Blanco. The writer and 1999National Journalism Prize, Guillermo Blanco was born in Talca on August 15, 1926. He had a long career and was recognized for his short stories, such as “Gracia y el Forastero” (1964) and “Adiós a Ruibarbo“ (1974). He was a member of the Chilean Language Academy and of the Royal Academy of the Spanish Language. His ashes were deposited in the sculptures park of our University, according to his will.

  • Galardonado 2002


    Alejandro Silva Bascuñán. (1910 - )
    Lawyer Alejandro Silva Bascuñán, born in Talca, received the award in honor of his vast experience in the exercise of his profession and his outstanding participation in other areas of public life. Among other important recognitions he has received the Decoration with the Order of St. Sylvester, who given by Pope Paul VI and also the Cross of Officer of the Order of Isabel the Catholic, delivered by King Juan Carlos of Spain, in 1999.

  • Galardonado 2001


    Huberto Maturana. The biologist and 1994 National Science Award, Humberto Maturana, received the year 2001 the Medal "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina". The merit of Maturana is having built, from the biological perspective, a worldview in which it proposes a theory of evolution alternative to Darwinism. He proposes to explore the meaning of human communication and the fundamentals of reality, time and culture.

  • Galardonado 2000


    Walter Hansch. National History Award in 1996 and a Jesuit Priest, with a degree in Theology, Walter Hanisch received the Medal of Merit for his tireless research into the life and work of Abbe Molina, to whom he has devoted an important part of his work. He was one of the founders and president of the Institute of Molinian Studies, which is the current "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina" Institute of Humanistic Studies of the University

  • Galardonado 1998


    Nicanor Parra. The work of Nicanor Parra focuses mainly on the so-called antipoetry (lyric contra-discourse), who, with his work "Poems and Antipoemas" (1954), consolidated definitively this poetic form. The works of this mathematician have been translated into several languages and he has obtained ,among other awards, the "Juan Rulfo" prize from the University of Guadalajara (1991), and the Reina Sofia Poetry award (2001).

  • Galardonado 1997


    Raúl Silva Henríquez. The founder of the Vicariate of Solidarity during the military dictatorship, Cardinal Raúl Silva Henríquez, was honored in 1997 with the gold medal "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina". Born in Talca he graduated as a lawyer at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile and later entered the Silesian order. After getting his PhD in Theology, in Italy, he was appointed Archbishop of Santiago on his return to Chile.

  • Galardonado 1996


    José Donoso. The Chilean writer was a awarded the gold medal for his merits in the field of literature, which reflects his ongoing relationship with Talca and the Maule Region, through his family roots. Between 1967 and 1981 he lived in Spain, where he wrote novels that today are required reading. He consolidated as a great figure within the movement of writers who belonged to the Latin American Boom.

  • Galardonado 1995


    Oscar Pinochet de la Barra. The Chilean diplomat and director of the Chilean Antarctic Institute between 1991 and 2003 was one of the first winners of the Medal of Merit "Abate Juan Ignacio Molina".

  • Galardonado 1994


    Fernando Flores Labra. Industrial Engineer, PhD in Language from the University of California, Berkeley, United States, and former Secretary of State, he received the medal in recognition for his career in the public service.

  • Galardonado 1992


    José Antonio Ardanza. He was the President (Lehendakari) of the Government of the Basque Country, Spain, between 1985 and 1999. Under his management, the creation of the Office for The Development of Investments in the Maule Region became a reality, through a cooperation agreement. In addition, he contributed with resources to finish the project of the current Regional Maule Theater.